Calicut Zamorins beat Kochi Diwans by 5 wickets | KPL Dubai Season 3
Free Counter

Calicut Zamorins beat Kochi Diwans by 5 wickets

Post 40 of 65

Calicut Zamorins beat Kochi Diwans by 5 wickets

Calicut Zamorins  Farooq C C beat Capital Kochi Diwans by 5 wickets

Farhan Baber’s timely knock led Calicut Zamorins Farooq CC to a five-wicket victory over Capital Kochi Diwans in a Kerala Premier League match at the ICC Cricket Academy ground in Dubai. Baber hit a 42-ball 43 with the help of three fours and one six and helped his team Calicut achieve the target of 129 in 19.2 overs.

Calicut lost their openers cheaply but Baber played a cool knock and guided the team with the help of Fahad Tariq, who chipped in with a 32-ball 39, including four boundaries and one six.

After both of them fell later, NashwanNasir hit an unbeaten knock of 11 from 14 balls with one hit to the fence, while Fahad Al Hashmi remained not out on one.

Chandrasekhara gave a good start to Kochi by taking the wickets of openers but Baber’s innings made the difference in the match.Chandrasekhara finished with 2-20 from his four overs, while Ramesh Chinnan took 2-21 from his four overs.Shiraz also bowled well by taking one wicket for 19 runs from four overs.

Earlier, opener Boota Mohammed top scored with 37 from 32 balls with five boundaries and helped Kochi, who lost the toss and batted first, reach 128 for eight in 20 overs.Justin James and Nazir were impressive in their bowling as the pair helped Calicut restrict Kochi.James took three wickets after giving away 23 runs from four overs,Nazir scalped two for 20 from his four overs. Noor-Ul-Amin finished with 1-25 from his full quota of overs.

After Mohammed’s dismissal, Kochi lost their way with their other batsmen failing to make a big contribution. UAE’s Khurram Khan played a run-a-ball 20, while FaizanAsif (11), SubinSulieman (15) and Nizel Fernandez (12) failed to convert good starts into big scores.

FarhanBaber was later adjudged man of the match for his match-winning innings.

KPL, which offers a total prize money of Dh250,000, is being held under the collaboration of Dubai Cricket Council. The tournament is sponsored by the CSS Group.

Brief scores:

Calicut Zamorins Farooq CC beat Capital Kochi Diwans by 5 wickets
Capital Kochi Diwans 128 for 8 in 20 over
(Mohamed Boota 37, Khurram Khan 20, SubinSulieman 15, NashwanNasir 2 for 20, Justin James 3 for 23)

Calicut Zamorins Farooq C C 129 in 19.2 over
(Mohd.Iqbal 15, Farhan Babar 43, Fahad Tariq 39,  Chandrashekara 2 for 20, Ramesh Chinnan 2 for 21)

Man of the Match:  Farhan Baber of Calicut Zamorins Farooq CC

Calicut Zamorins  Farooq C C beat Capital Kochi Diwans by 5 wickets



SC1 Sc2 SC3 SC4